2014 Slam Dunk Contest To Feature Two Teams And Completely New Rules

The 2014 Sprite Slam Dunk Contest will feature new rules and a completely new format.  There will no longer be one winner crowned, instead the competition will feature 2 teams consisting of 3 players each, and it will be 2 rounds of action — East vs. West.  In other words, it will be John Wall, Paul George and Terrence Ross vs. Damian Lillard, Ben McLemore and Harrison Barnes.

According to the NBA:

In a significant first in the event’s history, the competition will tip off with a Freestyle Round where the dunkers for each conference will have 90 seconds to showcase as many dunks as they want. At the conclusion of the Freestyle Round, the panel of judges will then choose a winner by voting “East” or “West.” The winning conference will earn the advantage of deciding whether its dunkers will dunk first or second in the head-to-head battles that take place in the Battle Round.

The Battle Round will feature head-to-head matchups pitting East dunkers vs. West dunkers, with the judges choosing a winner for each battle. Upon losing a head-to-head battle, that dunker is then eliminated from the competition. The first team to win three battles will win the competition and be crowned 2014 Sprite Slam Dunk champions.

Dream chasin'


  1. Pingback: The 2014 Three-Point Shootout Will Feature Fifth Rack Full Of Money Balls | Beyond The Buzzer

  2. Jon

    02/07/2014 at 2:10 PM

    Dumb. Takes away from the competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>